AAS HEAD 2024 Bruno Rossi Prize

The High Energy Astrophysics Division (HEAD) of the American Astronomical Society announced the 2024 HEAD Bruno Rossi Prize is awarded to: Martin Weisskopf, Paolo Soffitta and the IXPE team “for their development of the Imaging X-ray Polarimetry Explorer whose novel measurements advance our understanding of particle acceleration and emission from astrophysical shocks, black holes and neutron stars.” This is the highest honor specifically in high energy astrophysics. Also congratulations to the STI members that contributed to the IXPE miss and data analysis: Douglas Swartz, Chen Chien-Ting, Mary Lynne Saade, Dylan Maurel, and William Cleveland