IXPO: International X-ray POlarimetry Symposium

Decades after the pioneering launch of the first X-ray polarimeter onboard OSO-8, the field of X-ray polarimetry is experiencing a major resurgence, catalyzed by the launch of the Imaging X-ray Polarimetry Explorer (IXPE) - the first dedicated astrophysics mission for X-ray polarimetry. During the initial 2-year prime mission phase IXPE has increased the number of X-ray polarization detections from one to a few dozen, with significant consequences for our understanding of high-energy astrophysical objects. The opening of the first General Observer period in early 2024 promises to expand on these discoveries to new source classes and science questions. 

This conference will be an opportunity to explore the wide range of science enabled by X-ray polarimetry provided by IXPE and other missions such as XPoSAT and PolarLight. It will include sessions focused on  active galactic nuclei, blazars, accreting neutron stars and stellar black holes, supernova remnants, magnetars, and pulsar wind nebulae, as well as future mission concepts. This conference aims to foster inclusivity and collaboration within the scientific community by providing  sessions on X-ray polarimetry data analysis, and we invite researchers of all backgrounds to engage in the frontier of high energy polarimetry. As a highlight, the workshop will coincide with a celebration of the awarding of the Rossi Prize to Martin Weisskopf, Paolo Soffitta, and the IXPE team, to be held at the nearby U.S. Space and Rocket Center.

Abstract submission is expected to open on April 1st, with a program announcement at the end of May. 

Abstract submission is now OPEN, email [email protected] for questions.

Confirmed invited speakers:

  • Martin Weisskopf (NASA MSFC Emeritus)
  • Paolo Soffita (IAPS/INAF)
  • Hua Feng (Tsinghua University)
  • Phil Kaaret (NASA MSFC)
  • Riccardo Middei (INAF Osservatorio Astronomico di Roma)
  • Roberto Taverna (University of Padova)
  • Francesco Ursini (Università Roma Tre)
  • Josephine Wong (Stanford University)

The conference will take place on September 16-19, 2024 at the AC Hotel at Downtown Huntsville and will coincide with the dinner celebration of the awarding of Rossi Prize at USSRC on September 18th. 

We have reserved a limited number of hotel rooms at the nearby Embassy Suites.  You can click here to reserve your room at the conference price.

Science Organizing Committee:

  • Chien-Ting Chen (USRA, co-chair)
  • Alessandra De Rosa (INAF-IAPS)
  • Ioannis Liodakis (ORAU)
  • Giorgio Matt (Università Roma Tre)
  • Eileen Meyer (UMBC, co-chair)
  • Roger Romani (Stanford)
  • Doug Swartz (USRA)